Time Flies

When I was in high school I was really proud of myself. For the first few years I was that student who got good grades even though I didn’t have to try super hard. Taking in information just came easily to me. I was proud of myself because I totally could have slacked off, and left everything to the last minute. I never did that though. My work tactic was to complete everything as soon as possible, so I could make sure that if I didn’t understand something that I could look it up or ask for help.

In ┬ámy later years of high school, I started to slack off. None of it mattered to me anymore. I still processed information easily, so I did end up leaving everything to the last minute or not even doing it at all. I became disappointed in myself when other people started to point out that my grades were slipping. Otherwise I had just put it in the back of my mind. I was occupied with other things that I had thought were more important. Now that I’m older, and still don’t have a high school diploma yet, I realize that it was a mistake to think that I had more important things to do.

I’m pretty focused, and doing good in my classes. But I’m still in the transition period where I’m going from doing nothing to actually having a life. It feels really good.

Stay classy,
- DP